Company Profile
ACAD Studio
Acad Studio
Blog Detail

Understanding The Levels Of BIM

31 Mar 2020

Building Information Modelling (BIM) is the technologically advanced software specially designed for the field of construction management and architecture, enabling numerous professionals, particularly the architects to plan out and implement the ideas and resources that they will be used in building the structure.

Architecture has come a long way since the introduction of the computers along with the adoption of new technologies. There has been an up-gradation in design tools, inter-connectedness and computer-based application that has made the BIM software a one-stop solution planning system for all the professionals who are using this software. 

The BIM technology is more about the process where one is engaged in rather than as a product. It helps a professional to plan how the building will look like after its completion. With the adoption of the 3D modelling in designing, it becomes imperative particularly for the architect to analyse and optimise the designs that he or she is getting. 

BIM has made it possible that through virtual reality experience, it becomes easier for a person to take action after having the photorealistic renderings and animations of the building structure. 

However, there is a particular working of the BIM which takes places through different stages, which we call it as ‘BIM Levels’. The different levels of BIM range fro Level 0, Level 1, Level 2 and  Level 3.

These are also known as ‘BIM Maturity Levels’ in a construction project. As one proceeds through the levels, the collaboration between various professionals increases. At present, there are four distinct BIM maturity levels.

  1. BIM LEVEL 0 ( Zero Collaboration) - This is the stage of gathering and generating information and does not involve any cooperation amongst anyone. The simple information is regarding the building structure that one can get from papers as well. Computer-aided Designing based drawings are used in Level 0.

  2. BIM LEVEL 1 ( Partial Collaboration) - This is a stage that is commonly used by the companies known as the ‘Common Data Environment’ where all the information is stored and shared with everyone. The information is an important one that is deemed as necessary to share with all people. In the field of architecture, this stage normally involves the contractor who makes the transition of designs from CAD to 2D and 3D designs.

  3. BIM LEVEL 2 ( Full Collaboration) - This stage comprises of a collaborative work amongst all the professionals involved but not necessarily on the same single platform. Information regarding designs are shared through a common file format. This allows everyone to keep a check on how the designing is progressing.

  4. BIM LEVEL 3 (Full Integration) - This stage is the final goal of the construction management process where the aim is to fully integrate all the information in a cloud-based environment. The model of the structure is accessible to anyone an can be used by anyone.

These levels altogether help the architects and other professionals to come together to act efficiently with the structure that is in progress in construction. These levels, in other words, increase the amount of work as well as collaboration amongst the professionals. In terms of a few disadvantages, there can be issues with regard to copyrights and responsibility issues but soon these problems will also be solved. In the end, BIM is a competitive technology that has made the architecture work much more efficient and proper with all the details now being available to everyone in order to carry out all sorts of work.

Consult Acad Studio for BIM Building Information

Get in touch

Plot No. 2, Basement, Sector 27, Haryana 122002
+91 9667966967
Thank you!. Your message is successfully sent...
We're sorry, but something went wrong